Using TextUp is like having a virtual work phone accessible from your computer or from your phone. TextUp will notify you via text message of key events on your personal phone, including when you receive messages and optionally when scheduled messages are sent out.
This text message conversation shows that the notifications texts look like. Notice that these texts do not reveal the contents of the message so that your personal device never contains unprotected contact data. In order to view the contents of the notification, click on the secure link contained in the message.
The link in the notification message opens a new page in the browser showing who sent the message, what the contents of the message is, and which of your TextUp phone numbers (if you have access to multiple) received the message. If you want to see more details, you can click on the Open in app button to view the entire context of the conversation.
Notification texts expire after a period of time or after a certain number of views, whichever comes first. After a notification expires, you’ll need to open up the app to view this particular message.
Where TextUp sends notifications
TextUp sends notifications to your personal phone number. If you remove your personal phone number, you will not receive any notifications and the away message will always be sent because you are effectively not available.
Changing personal phone number
In your account settings, select the pencil icon next to your existing personal phone number to type in a new number.
After submitting this new number, you will receive a text message with a code. Enter this code into the verification field to confirm that this number does belong to you.
After entering a valid code, your personal phone number will be updated.
Removing personal phone number
Turn notifications off to remove your personal phone number and stop receiving all notifications completely. Note that doing so makes you never available, so TextUp will always respond to incoming texts with your away message and will route all calls to voicemail.
If you do not have a personal phone number associated with your account, TextUp will display a warning that you must have a personal phone number in order to be available. Even if you configure your availability to show that you are available, TextUp does not know where to send notifications.